Skip to product information
1 of 1

Something to be Proud Of

Something to be Proud Of

Regular price £8.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £8.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Anna Zoe Quirke

Interest age: from c 14 years | General fiction (Children's / Teenage) | Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage) | Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage)

Published on 6th June 2024 by Little Tiger Press Group (Little Tiger) in the United Kingdom.

Paperback / softback | 416 pages
198mm x 129mm | 0g

“A sparkling debut about friendship, solidarity and the joy and heartache of queer teenhood, from Anna Zoe Quirke, a witty, fresh new voice in YA.” Lex Croucher, author of Gwen and Art are Not in LoveImogen Quinn is a chaotic bisexual with dreams of becoming a stand-up comedian, crushing stereotypes about autistic people. When she decides to put on a pride festival that’s accessible for everyone, she enlists the help of the openly gay captain of the football team, Ollie Armstrong.

Dealing with the fallout from his parents’ divorce, Ollie is initially hesitant. But it doesn’t take long for him to be swept up by Imogen’s passion, and he’s not the only one. Joined by the (infuriatingly perfect) head girl, musicians, an artist and a star baker – a dream team soon assembles to help plan pride and tackle injustices in their school and beyond. You’d better listen out – they’re getting ready to make some noise.

Packed full of fun, forever friendships and fighting back, this YA debut is perfect for fans of I Kissed Shara Wheeler, Gwen and Art are Not in Love, Feel Good, Heartstopper and Not My Problem.

“Furiously joyful and brimming with hope. Something to be Proud Of kicks open doors, demanding more for inclusivity. Brilliant magical stuff!” Lizzie Huxley-Jones, author of Hits Different“A study in the strength, determination, and love that young people can bring to the world, Something to be Proud Of is both powerful and hilarious at once.” Anika Hussain, author of This is How You Fall in Love“This hilarious comedy will make anyone who is queer and neurodiverse feel seen, uplifted and treasured.” Lauren James, author of The Quiet at the End of the World“A funny, inspiring story about the importance of friendship and fighting for a more inclusive world” Sophie Cameron, author of Away with Words“Something To Be Proud Of is a book full of passion and drama, with moments to make you laugh, gasp and even punch the air with satisfaction! It’s a story about the power of friendship and the importance of standing up for each other, making mistakes and doing your best, and learning that we are always stronger together. It’s a message we all need right now.” Sarah Hagger-Holt, author of The Fights That Make Us“Inspiring, uplifting, and completely fabulous!” Sinéad O’Hart, author of The Time Tider

View full details