Skip to product information
1 of 1

A Divine Fury

A Divine Fury

Regular price £18.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £18.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: D.V. Bishop

Italy | Holy Roman Empire | c 1500 to c 1600 | Historical mysteries | Thriller / suspense | Historical fiction

Published on 20th June 2024 by Pan Macmillan (Macmillan) in the United Kingdom as part of the 'Cesare Aldo series' series.

Hardback | 400 pages
234mm x 153mm | 600g

The Crime Writers' Association Historical Dagger Winning Author

A religious serial killer is haunting Florence and only Cesare Aldo can stop them. A Divine Fury is an atmospheric historical thriller by D. V. Bishop, set in Renaissance Italy.

'Fast becoming a serious rival to C. J. Sansom and S. J. Parris' – Historical Novel Society

Florence. Autumn, 1539.

Cesare Aldo was once an officer for the city’s most feared criminal court. Following a period of exile, he is back – but demoted to night patrol, when only the drunk and the dangerous roam the streets.

Chasing a suspect in the rain, Aldo discovers a horrifying scene beneath Michelangelo’s statue of David. Lifeless eyes gaze from the face of a man whose body has been posed as if crucified. It’s clear the killer had religious motives.

When more bodies appear, Aldo believes an unholy murderer is stalking the citizens of Florence. Watching. Hunting. Waiting for the perfect moment to strike again . . .

A Divine Fury is the fourth Cesare Aldo mystery, preceded by City of Vengeance, The Darkest Sin and Ritual of Fire.

It’s hard to think of a better guide than D. V. Bishop to the brutality and glamour of Renaissance Florence. Religion and lust? Money and politics? It's all here, combined into a murderous brew
Fast becoming a serious rival to C. J. Sansom and S. J. Parris
A deft and engrossing historical thriller set in Renaissance Florence drawing on the fascinating and troubling legacy of Girolamo Savonarola. I thoroughly enjoyed the latest - and I think best - in D. V. Bishop's brilliant series
View full details