Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown

The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown

Regular price £7.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £7.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Laird, Elizabeth

c 1945 to c 2000 (Post-war period)

Published on 1 June 2023 by PAN MACMILLAN (Macmillan Children's Books) in the United Kingdom.

Paperback | 352 pages
129 x 198 x 24 | 252g

Inspired by award-winning author Elizabeth Laird's own childhood growing up in post-war London, The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown is a classic coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of The Skylarks' War and I Capture the Castle.

Charity Brown's life is about to change - her family have been left a huge, rambling house by a mysterious benefactor, and her parents want to move in and throw open its doors to the needy.

Only recently back from hospital after months of isolation with polio, Charity is over-protected and lonely as the only child still at home. Her family are very religious - her sisters are called Faith and Hope, and her brother Ted is studying to be a preacher - so she's both excited and nervous at the thought of sharing her family and new home with strangers.

It's a recipe for confusion, joy and endless misunderstandings, including with the new neighbours, an Austrian family with a daughter just Charity's age . . .

View full details