Skip to product information
1 of 1

Shuggie Bain : The Million-Copy Bestseller

Shuggie Bain : The Million-Copy Bestseller

Regular price $12.91 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.91 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Stuart, Douglas

Central Scotland

Published on 15 April 2021 by PAN MACMILLAN (Picador).

Paperback | 448 pages
131 x 196 x 30 | 334g

Winner of the Booker PrizeWinner of 'Book of the Year' and 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book AwardsThe Million-Copy Bestseller'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' - The judges of the Booker Prize'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' - ObserverIt is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves.

It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of A Little Life and Angela's Ashes, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

'A heartbreaking novel' - The Times'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' - Daily Mail

View full details