Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Back Up Man : The hilarious and heartwarming brand new romcom perfect for fans of The Flatshare

The Back Up Man : The hilarious and heartwarming brand new romcom perfect for fans of The Flatshare

Regular price £7.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £7.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Luckhurst, Phoebe

Fiction & related items

Published on 19 January 2023 by Penguin Books Ltd in the United Kingdom.

Paperback | 416 pages
128 x 197 x 33 | 288g

THE HILARIOUS AND HEARTWARMING NEW ROMCOM PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE FLATSHARE, FROM THE COMEDY WOMEN IN PRINT PRIZE SHORTLISTED AUTHOR'An entertaining romcom with a very relatable set-up. The Back Up Man goes down like a good cup of tea . . . warm, comforting, enjoyable' i'Delightful and uplifting. Brimming with nostalgia and warmth. A great read to brighten up the winter months' Culturefly* Marriage pact* Slow burn* Forced proximity* Friends to lovers'I could not put it down - I just HAD to know what happened' 5***** Reader Review'A romcom with depth and substance and also, refreshingly, set in Glasgow' RED'Uplifting and compelling. I couldn't put it down and I couldn't stop smiling - I loved it' 5***** Reader Review*Shortlisted author for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize*They made a deal to marry at thirty. But Euan's nowhere to be found . . .

Can Anya track down her back up man? Twenty-nine, single, jobless and in a nightmare house share, things could be going better for Anya Mackie.

Then she stumbles across a pact she wrote with her school crush, Euan Carrick - to marry at thirty if they're still single . . .

But Euan hasn't been seen for a decade.

Reluctantly enlisting the help of Euan's emotionally unavailable best friend Jamie Kildare, Anya sets off across the country to find her Back Up Man.

But will Euan remember her? And should Anya really be betting her future on her past? The Back Up Man is a hilariously romantic tale of mishaps and matrimony, love and long shots, foibles and friendship, that may make you text that old school boyfriend of yours . . .

'I adored The Back Up Man! Phoebe is so funny, with such a brilliant observational eye and a perfect ear for dialogue. An absolute delight' EMMA HUGHES'You'll have a lot of fun' HEAT'A charming romance' WOMAN'S OWN'Funny and uplifting' SUNPraise for Phoebe Luckhurst:'Entertaining, endearing, and truly unique. Found myself wincing and laughing with familiarity' Emma Gannon'The year's most original rom-com' Elle'Hilarious' Evening Standard'Nostalgic, pitch perfect' Cressida McLaughlin'Funny and compelling from page one' Lucy Vine

View full details