Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price $14.20 USD
Regular price Sale price $14.20 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Banks, Iain M.

Fiction & related items

Published on 30 November 2023 by Little, Brown Book Group (Orbit) in the United Kingdom as part of 'the Culture' series.

Paperback | 416 pages
126 x 197 x 29 | 288g

The novels of Iain M. Banks have forever changed the face of modern science fiction. His Culture books combine breathtaking imagination with exceptional storytelling, and have secured his reputation as one of the most extraordinary and influential writers in the genre.

'Banks is a phenomenon' William Gibson In the winter palace, the King's new physician has more enemies than she realises. But then she also has more defences than even her most hardened adversaries could imagine.

In another palace, far across the mountains, sits the regicidal Protector General. His chief bodyguard also has enemies to worry about, with the threat of treachery and assassination never far away.

And beneath the surface of these feudal courts - behind the spies, murders, politics and intrigues - lies an entirely di fferent kind of threat, an entity that nobody would ever suspect.

Praise for the Culture series:'Epic in scope, ambitious in its ideas and absorbing in its execution' Independent on Sunday'Banks has created one of the most enduring and endearing visions of the future' Guardian'Jam-packed with extraordinary invention' Scotsman'Compulsive reading' Sunday Telegraph The Culture series:Consider PhlebasThe Player of GamesUse of WeaponsExcessionInversionsLook to WindwardMatterSurface DetailThe Hydrogen SonataThe State of the ArtOther books by Iain M. Banks:Against a Dark BackgroundFeersum EndjinnThe AlgebraistAlso now available: The Culture: The Drawings - an extraordinary collection of original illustrations faithfully reproduced from sketchbooks Banks kept in the 1970s and 80s, depicting the ships, habitats, geography, weapons and language of Banks' Culture series of novels in incredible detail.

View full details