Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sailor of Liberty : 'Rivals the immortal Patrick O'Brian' Angus Donald

Sailor of Liberty : 'Rivals the immortal Patrick O'Brian' Angus Donald

Regular price £10.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Davies, J. D.

Fiction & related items

Published on 13 July 2023 by Canelo (Canelo Adventure) in the United Kingdom as part of 'The Philippe Kermorvant Thrillers' series.

Paperback | 336 pages
197 x 128 x 19 | 240g

The call of the republic, the weight of destiny. A new legend takes to the seas.'A thrilling new adventure series that rivals the immortal Patrick O'Brian' Angus Donald1793. The infant French republic is assailed on all sides, by enemies within and the combined might of the great European monarchies without. A fanatical regime has taken power in Paris.

In the midst of these upheavals, Philippe Kermorvant, son of an English aristocrat and a French nobleman, arrives in Brittany, his father's homeland, for the first time in his life. He gained experience of brutal warfare as a young officer in the fledgling United States, and Russian, Navies. Now he has three reasons for making his new home in France: his fervent belief in the ideals proclaimed by the new French Republic, his desire to revive the ancient estate of his family, and his wish to fight against those whom he has always regarded as his enemy... The English.

But with the core of the French fleet on the verge of mutiny and the horrors of 'Madame Guillotine' at their peak, Philippe will have more than warfare, politics and family entanglements to contend with.

From a toxic homecoming welcome to an arbitrary spell in gaol, Philippe's loyalty to the republic will be tested to breaking point. Everything will come to a head in a life-or-death battle on the high seas, which will leave him with an impossible choice. One that will change his life forever...

The thrilling introduction to the newest star of Napoleonic naval fiction, Philippe Kermorvant, from award-winning naval author and historian J. D. Davies, perfect for fans of C. S. Forester, Patrick O'Brian and Julian Stockwin.

View full details